The List of 50+ Greatest World Marathons

The marathon is a long-distance running event with an official distance of 42.195 kilometers or 26.2 miles (26 miles and 385 yards), usually run as a road race. The event was instituted in commemoration of the fabled run of the Greek soldier Pheidippides. The legend states that he was sent from the battlefield of Marathon to Athens to announce that the Persians had been defeated in the Battle of Marathon, which took place in August or September, 490 BC. It is said that Pheidippides ran the entire distance without stopping and burst into the assembly, exclaiming “We have wοn!”, before collapsing and dying.

Annually, more than 500 marathons are organized worldwide. Some of these belong to the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS) which has grown since its foundation in 1982 to embrace over 300 member events in 83 countries and territories. The marathons of Berlin, Boston, Chicago, London, New York City and Tokyo form the World Marathon Majors series (Big Six), awarding $500,000 annually to the best overall male and female performers in the series.

Here is the Half Horse Half Man’s list of the 50+ Greatest World Marathons sorted by race date (2015).

Boston Marathon Baner

Categories:
WM – The World Marathon Majors Series (Big Six)
BAA – In the List of Top 25 Boston Athletic Association qualifiers (ref. B.A.A. link)
BIG – In the List of Top 10 Largest USA Marathons by number of runners
INT – In the Half Horse Half Man’s list of marathons to run

 

Date WM INT BAA BIG Location Name Website
January BIG Orlando, Florida Walt Disney World® Marathon http://www.rundisney.com/disneyworld-marathon/
January Charleston, South Carolina Charleston Marathon http://charlestonmarathon.com/
January BAA Houston, Texas Chevron Houston Marathon http://www.chevronhoustonmarathon.com/
January Dubai, United Arab Emirates Dubai Marathon http://www.dubaimarathon.org/
January Miami, Florida Miami Marathon http://www.themiamimarathon.com/
February WM INT Tokyo, Japan Tokyo Marathon http://www.marathon.tokyo/en/
February INT Birmingham, Alabama Mercedes Marathon https://mercedesmarathon.com/marathon.php
March Albany, Georgia Albany Marathon http://albanymarathon.com/
March Barcelona, Spain Zurich Marato de Barcelona http://www.zurichmaratobarcelona.es/index_e.php
March INT BIG Los Angeles, California Asics LA Marathon http://www.lamarathon.com/
March INT Atlanta, Georgia Publix Georgia Marathon http://www.georgiamarathon.com/
March Virginia Beach, Virginia Shamrock Marathon http://www.shamrockmarathon.com/
March Rome, Italy Rome Marathon http://www.maratonadiroma.it/?lang=en
April Rotterdam, Netherlands Marathon Rotterdam http://www.nnmarathonrotterdam.org
April INT Paris, France Marathon de Paris http://www.schneiderelectricparismarathon.com/us/
April WM INT BAA BIG Boston, Massachusetts B.A.A. Boston Marathon http://www.baa.org/races/boston-marathon.aspx
April WM INT London, England Virgin Money London Marathon http://www.virginmoneylondonmarathon.com/en-gb/
May Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Pittsburgh Marathon http://www.pittsburghmarathon.com/
May Vancouver, Canada Vancouver Marathon http://www.bmovanmarathon.ca/runvan-marathon/
May Cincinnati, Ohio Flying Pig Marathon http://flyingpigmarathon.com/
May Fargo, California Fargo Marathon http://www.fargomarathon.com/
May INT Beijing, China The Great Wall Marathon http://great-wall-marathon.com/race-information
May BAA Traverse City, Michigan Bayshore Marathon http://www.bayshoremarathon.org/
May BAA Calabasas, California Mountains 2 Beach Marathon http://www.mountains2beachmarathon.com/
May BAA Ottawa, Canada Ottawa Marathon http://www.runottawa.ca/
May Stockholm, Sweden Stockholm Marathon http://www.stockholmmarathon.se/Start/index.cfm?Lan_ID=3
May BIG San Diego, California Rock ‘n’ Roll San Diego Marathon http://runrocknroll.competitor.com/san-diego/
June BAA Duluth, Minnesota Grandma’s Marathon http://www.grandmasmarathon.com/
June St. Petersburg, Russia “White Nights” International Marathon http://www.wnmarathon.ru/
July INT San Francisco, California San Francisco Marathon http://www.thesfmarathon.com/
August BAA Santa Rosa, California Santa Rosa Marathon http://www.thesantarosamarathon.com/
September BAA Salt Lake City, Utah Big Cottonwood Marathon https://www.runrevel.com/bcm/
September BAA Allentown, Pennsylvania Lehigh Valley Marathon http://www.viamarathon.org/
September BAA Erie, Pennsylvania Erie Marathon http://eriemarathon.org/
September Dayton, Ohio Air Force Marathon http://www.usafmarathon.com/
September INT Moscow, Russia Moscow Marathon http://moscowmarathon.org/en/
September Omsk, Russia Siberian International Marathon http://www.runsim.ru/en
September WM INT BAA Berlin, Germany BMW Berlin Marathon http://www.bmw-berlin-marathon.com/en/
October BAA St.George, Utah St. George Marathon http://www.stgeorgemarathon.com/
October Kosice, Slovakia Kosice Marathon (the Oldest in Europe) http://kosicemarathon.com/en/index.php
October BAA BIG Portland, Oregon Portland Marathon http://portlandmarathon.org/
October BAA BIG St.Paul, Minnesota Twin Cities Marathon https://www.tcmevents.org/
October WM INT BAA BIG Chicago, Illinois Bank of America Chicago Marathon http://www.chicagomarathon.com/
October BAA Scranton, Pennsylvania Steamtown Marathon http://www.steamtownmarathon.com/
October INT Amsterdam, Netherlands Amsterdam Marathon http://www.tcsamsterdammarathon.nl/en/
October BAA Toronto, Canada Toronto Waterfront Marathon http://www.torontowaterfrontmarathon.com/en/index.htm
October BAA Lowell, Massachusetts Baystate Marathon http://baystatemarathon.com/
October BAA Columbus, Ohio Columbus Marathon http://www.nationwidechildrens.org/
October INT BAA BIG Washington, D.C. Marine Corps Marathon http://www.marinemarathon.com/
November WM INT BAA BIG New York City, New York TCS New York City Marathon http://www.tcsnycmarathon.org/
November INT Columbus, Georgia Soldier Marathon http://soldiermarathon.com/plaintext/home/home.aspx
November INT Savannah, Georgia Rock ‘n’ Roll Savannah Marathon http://runrocknroll.competitor.com/savannah
November BAA Indianapolis, Indiana Indianapolis Monumental Marathon http://www.monumentalmarathon.com/
November INT Athens, Greece Athens Authentic Marathon http://www.athensauthenticmarathon.gr/index.php?lang=en
November INT Las Vegas, Nevada Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas Marathon http://runrocknroll.competitor.com/las-vegas/
November BAA Richmond, Virginia Richmond Marathon http://www.richmondmarathon.com/
November Istanbul, Turkey Istanbul Marathon http://www.istanbulmarathon.org/en
November BAA Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Philadelphia Marathon http://philadelphiamarathon.com/
December Memphis, Tennessee Memphis Marathon http://www.stjudemarathon.org/races/stjude-memphis-marathon
December BAA Sacramento, California California International Marathon http://runcim.org/
December INT Huntsville, Alabama Rocket City Marathon http://runrocketcity.com/
December BIG Honolulu, Hawaii Honolulu Marathon http://www.honolulumarathon.org/

One thought on “The List of 50+ Greatest World Marathons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *